The Darwin Prize

The Darwin Prize in evolutionary biology is an encouragement for a person or a team having carried out outstanding research within the field of evolutionary biology, and/or otherwise having supported and promoted such work. The prize is handed out by Nils Chr. Stenseth at Darwin Day. The prize is a sculpture by Øystein B. Mobråten.


Year Name(s)





Eivind Andreas Baste Undheim. Awarded February 11th, 2022.

Finn-Eirik Johansen. Awarded February 12th, 2021.

Glenn-Peter Sætre and Mark Ravinet. Awarded February 12th, 2020.

Sissel Jentoft

2017 Anne K. Brysting
2016 Sanne Boessenkool
2015 Lee Hsiang Liow
2014 Atle Mysterud
2013 Paul E. Grini
2012 L. Asbjørn Vøllestad
2011 Odd Stokke Gabrielsen
2010 Kamran Shalchian-Tabrizi
2009 Tore O. Elgvin, Jens Ådne R. Haga and Kjetil L. Voje
2008 Trond Schumacher
2007 Thomas F. Hansen
2006 Tore Slagsvold
2005 Glenn-Peter Sætre
2004 Kjetill S. Jakobsen
1989 Inger Nordal


Published May 25, 2012 12:05 PM - Last modified Feb. 11, 2022 11:53 AM