About the Language Technology Group

Language Technology at UiO has a long and proud history, going back to the 1960s and pioneering joint activities between researchers in mathematics and the humanities.  Steadily growing demands on Language Technology and increased internationalization of research and training alike require sustained efforts, long-term planning, a good balance of breadth and focus, and active collaboration and exchange with leading academic players world-wide.  The UiO focal research area in Language Technology makes it possible for the group to develop, over time, into a scientific environment that contributes actively to the advancement of Language Technology, both scientifically—at a competitive international level—and practically, by virtue of partnerships that enable the transfer of new knowledge into innovative applications.

In early fall 2015, the Language Technology Group is comprised of four full-time faculty (Jan Tore Lønning, Stephan Oepen, Erik Velldal, and Lilja Øvrelid), one adjunct faculty (Aleksander Øhrn), two post-doctoral fellows (Milen Kouylekov and Pierre Lison), and six doctoral candidates (Murhaf Fares, Angelina Ivanova, Andrey Kutuzov, Emanuele Lapponi, Elisabeth Lien, and Arne Skjærholt).  All group members have their offices in the new Computer Science Building, on the seventh floor of Ole Johan Dahls Hus.

Tags: language technology By Stephan Oepen
Published Feb. 8, 2012 9:46 AM - Last modified Sep. 26, 2021 5:06 PM