Nordic Spring School in Logic 2013

The first Nordic Spring School in Logic is organized under the auspices of the Scandinavian Logic Society and is supported by the Department of Mathematics of the University of Oslo. (Download poster here - pdf)

The Sophus Lie Conference Center is located with a view to one of the famous fjords of Norway, in an area particularly attractive with its nordic exotic nature and bright nights at that time of the year.
Nordfjordeid can be reached by plane from Oslo, Bergen, or Trondheim to Sandane airport, or by coach from each of these cities. Information regarding hotels, etc can be found at the Nordfjordeid Tourist Information.

NEW: Course material can be found at

COURSE PROGRAMME (course schedule)

The school programme will comprise the following short courses on a variety of important topics in mathematical, computational, applied and philosophical logic, given by leading experts in their fields:

  • Alexandru Baltag and Sonja Smets (University of Amsterdam): Dynamic logics for interactive belief revision
  • Dag Normann (University of Oslo): The semantics of higher-order algorithms
  • Erich Graedel (RWTH Aachen): Logics for dependence and independence
  • Joan Bagaria (ICREA, University of Barcelona): Set theory: an introduction to the world of large cardinals
  • Katrin Tent (University of Muenster): Model theory: Simple and stable theories(Cancelled)
  • Ali Enayat (University of Gothenburg): Model Theory of Arithmetic (New)
  • Kim Larsen (Aalborg University): Logic and formal verification
  • Michael Rathjen (University of Leeds): Proof theory: From arithmetic to set theory
  • Nina Gierasimczuk (University of Amsterdam) and Jakub Szymanik (University of Amsterdam): Logic, computability and cognition
  • Thierry Coquand (University of Gothenburg): Type theory and univalent foundations
  • Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH Aachen): Logic, automata and games
  • Øystein Linnebo (University of Oslo and Birkbeck, University of London): Philosophy of logic: The problem of absolute generality

The program will be divided into two parallel streams, one mainly on mathematical logic and the other mainly on computational, applied and philosophical logic. The courses will target mainly PhD students, but will also be of interest for young (and not so young) researchers in logic and its applications.
Some of the courses will be accessible to advanced master students, too.

Besides the series of courses, the school program will also include a half-day excursion to the famous glacier Briksdalsbreen, on Wednesday, May 29.


The registration for the school will commence on January 15, 2013. The number of participants will be limited, and requests for participations will be accepted in the order of registration until the limit is reached. However, 50 of the available places will be reserved for master and PhD students until the early registration deadline.

Early Registration: MARCH 15, 2013.
Late Registration: MAY 1, 2013

Online registration will close Monday April 29.


The students accommodation will be provided in the conference center, mostly in double rooms. These are located in 9 pavilions with 4 double + 2 single rooms each. Each pavilion has common kitchen and bathroom facilities. The cost of accommodation in a double room with full board in the center, from (arrival) Sunday, May 26 until (latest departure on) Saturday, June 1 is NOK 3490. There are also alternative possibilities for accommodation in hotels or guest houses nearby.

Participants with a preference of a single room registrating from now on (24.04.13) may be put on a waiting list, as the availability of single rooms may depend on cancellations.

The registration fees, covering the scientific programme, use of conference facilities and refreshments, and the excursion on Wednesday, are as follows:

Early Registration:
Student fees: NOK 1500
Regular fees: NOK 2000

Late Registration:
Student fees: NOK 2000
Regular fees: NOK 2500

Registrations are now closed. Within a few days of registration you will receive an e-mail with practical information about payment. Your registration is not complete before payment is received. The payment is online, and by credit card. The access to online payment will close on May 1, 23.59 local time.


Organizing Committee:

Dag Normann (University of Oslo, Norway): Chair
Elisabeth H. Seland (University of Oslo, Norway): Administrative support
Fredrik Engström (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
Valentin Goranko (Technical University of Denmark)

Scientific Committee:

Benedikt Loewe (Universities of Amsterdam and Hamburg)
Erik Palmgren (University of Stockholm, Sweden)
Juliette Kennedy (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Marc Bezem (University of Bergen, Norway)
Patrick Blackburn (University of Roskilde, Denmark)
Valentin Goranko (Technical University of Denmark), Chair


Enquiries on registration and logistics:
Enquiries on the scientific programme:

Mount Akkah

Photo Tobias Radeskog / CC BY 3.0.

This conference is supported by The Research Council of Norway through the VERDIKT programme.


  9.00-10.00 10.30-12.00   14.00-15.00 15.30-17.00 17.30-18.30


Bagaria 1
Normann 1

Graedel 1
Gieras.-­Szym. 1


Rathjen 1
Larsen 1

Graedel 2
Gieras.‐Szym. 2

Coquand 1
Thomas 1


Coquand 2
Thomas 2

Rathjen 2
Baltag‐Smets 1


Bagaria 2
Larsen 2

Graedel 3
Gieras.‐Szym. 3

Enayat 1
Linnebo 1


Bagaria 3
Larsen 3

Enayat 2
Linnebo 2

Rathjen 3
Baltag‐Smets 2





Graedel 4
Gieras.-­Szym. 4

Rathjen 4
Baltag-­Smets 3


Enayat 3
Linnebo 3

Bagaria 4
Normann 2

Coquand 3
Thomas 3


Enayat 4
Linnebo 4

Coquand 4
Thomas 4

Normann 3



Published Jan. 11, 2013 1:56 PM - Last modified Jan. 9, 2015 10:02 AM