Dark Matter Meeting

The Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics will host an informal Dark Matter meeting on Oct 21st, 2011. This meeting is on the initiative of the Norwegian Centre for Dark Matter Analysis, Research and Applications (DAMARA) at the Department of Physics and Technology in Bergen and organised together with the Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics in Oslo.


The main objective of the meeting is for young people in Norway working on Dark Matter related topics to meet and get to know each other. Secondly, the meeting presents the new collaboration between the Oskar Klein Center for Cosmoparticle Physics (OKC) in Stockholm, Sweden and the DAMARA project on CTA as well as the new collaboration with the Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics in Oslo.


When What Who
09:45 Welcome David F. Mota and Heidi Sandaker: Dark Matter research in Norway
10:00 Coffee and cake  
10:15 - 11:00 Colloquium Jan Conrad: Searches for Dark Matter with astrophysical gamma rays - status and perspectives
11:15 Part 1 Reports from students and postdocs
(15+5')   Trygve Buanes: Study of CTA sensitivity for gamma line-emission searches
(20+5')   Lars Dal: Anti-deuterons as signature for dark matter
(15+5')   Michael Kachelriess: News from Trondheim
(5+5')   Therese Sjursen: mSUGRA/cMSSM searches in ATLAS
12:30 Lunch  
13:30 Part 2 Reports from students and postdocs
(40+5')   Yashar Akrami: Constraints on supersymmetric models of dark matter: global fits and statistical pitfalls
(20+5')   Jan Lindroos: mSUGRA high tan(beta) grid
(15+5')   Joachim Ripken: Implications for constrained supersymmetry of combined H.E.S.S. observations of dwarf galaxies, the galactic halo and the galactic centre
(15+5')   Helge Pettersen: Spectrum scans in the pMSSM
(20+5')   Tomi Sebastian Koivisto: Coupled dark sector in cosmology
15:45 Part 3 Heidi Sandaker: Plans for CTA membership
15:50 Coffee and cake  
16:00 Part 4 Group discussions

List of participants:*

Yashar Akrami ITA, Oslo
Paul Bãtzing IFI, Oslo
Trygve Buanes IFT, Bergen
Jan Conrad OKC, Stockholm
Håkon Dahle ITA, Oslo
Lars Andreas Dal DoP, Oslo
Ørjan Dale IFT, Bergen
Borge Kile Gjelsten DoP, Oslo
Paulo Guilherme dos Santos ITA, Oslo
Michael Kachelriess NTNU, Trondheim
Tomi Sebastian Koivisto ITA, Oslo
Jostein Riiser Kristiansen ITA, Oslo
Anders Kvellestad DoP, Oslo
Per Vidar Barth Lilje ITA, Oslo
Jan Lindroos IFT, Bergen
Anna Lipniacka IFT, Bergen
Claudio Llinares ITA, Oslo
Knut Dundas Morå IFT, Bergen
David Fonseca Mota ITA, Oslo
Per Osland IFT, Bergen
Helge Pettersen IFT, Bergen
Are Raklev DoP , Oslo
Joachim Ripken OKC, Stockholm
Heidi Sandaker IFT, Bergen
Marit Sandstad ITA, Oslo
Therese Sjursen IFT, Bergen
Lars Einar Stieng NTNU, Trondheim
Mikjel Thorsrud ITA, Oslo
Ingunn Kathrine Wehus Dept. of Physics, Oslo
Hans Winther ITA, Oslo
*: ITA: Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, University of Oslo; IFT: Department of Physics and Technology, University of Bergen; NTNU: Norwegian University of Science and Technology; DoP: Department of Physics, University of Oslo; OKC: The Oskar Klein Center for Cosmoparticle Physics, Department of Physics, Stockholm University


Heidi Sandaker (Department of Physics and Technology, University of Bergen)
David F. Mota (Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, University of Oslo)
Yashar Akrami (Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, University of Oslo)
and special thanks to Anna Kathinka Dalland Evans.


Published Oct. 10, 2011 10:40 AM - Last modified Apr. 9, 2019 4:00 PM