The Board of the Department of Physics

The Departmental Board is the department's highest organ and has responsibility for setting overall objectives, prioritizations and strategies for activity. The present board was elected for the term 2021 - 2024.



Head of Department

Susanne Viefers

Deputy Head of Department (temporary)

Helge Balk

Academic staff

Sunniva Siem, Erik Adli

Alternate members

Nina Edin, Lasse Clausen

Temporary academic staff 

Dorthea Gjestvang (elected for 2021)

Alternate member

 Antoine Camper (elected for 2021)

Technical/administrative staff

Halvor Strøm, Tone Skramstad

Alternate member

Espen Murtnes

Student representatives (will be elected later)


Alternate members



The Departmental Board is the department's highest decision-making organ. The Board sets overall objectives, prioritizations and strategies for the department. The Head of Department chairs the Board and, in collaboration with the Head of Administration, prepares the agenda to be addressed. The Head of Administration serves as board secretary, but is not a member.
The activity of the Board is regulated by the administrative regulations of the department.
The Board addresses agenda items including the following areas:

  • Budget
  • General plans, principles and prioritizations for activity laid down in long-term plans, such as, for example, the strategy plan and academic prioritizations for the department.
  • Approval of financial statements and annual reports is one of the Board's instruments for following up activity.
  • Recommendations for permanent, academic positions for which the Faculty is the appointing authority. 
Published Mar. 15, 2011 1:18 PM - Last modified Jan. 12, 2021 12:55 PM