Sabrina Sartori

Associate Professor - Section for Energy Systems
Image of Sabrina Sartori
Norwegian version of this page
Phone +47 22842227
Visiting address Forskningsparken Gaustadalleen 21 0349 Oslo
Postal address Postboks 70 2027 KJELLER

Academic Interests

Solid state physics and chemistry including synthesis and characterization of materials for energy storage. Structure characterization via in-situ synchrotron radiation and powder neutron diffraction performed at large scale facilities, for instance at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) of Grenoble (France), at the Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering (CINS) of Chalk River (Canada) and at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), USA. Investigation of nanoscale and porous materials with small-angle neutron and X-ray scattering (SANS and SAXS).

Head of Energy storage systems group.


Higher education and employment history

2013-to date    Associate Professor at UiO, section leader Energy Systems

2013-2016       Group Coordinator "Energy and Environment" at UNIK

2012-2013       Researcher at UNIK 

2010-2014       Researcher at IFE

2006-2010       Post doc at IFE, Physics Department

2003-2005       Post doc at University of Padova,

                        Physics Dept. and Dept. of Mechanical Eng.

2003                PhD in Materials Science and Engineering,

                        University of Bologna

1998                Master in Physical Chemistry, University of Padova 


2004                Master in Science Communication, ISAS/SISSA Trieste

1999                Post Graduate Course in Environmental Law

                        and Politics, University of Padova


  • 2020 IJHE David Sanborn Scott Award for the most cited paper in the Hydrogen storage & Distribution category of the year 2019
  • Elected at MRS Board of Directors, three-years term (2015-2017)
  • Invited speaker at more than 40 International Conferences and Schools
  • 2014 Energy & Environmental Science Prize, Royal Society of Chemistry, Poster presentation, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • 2012-2013 Cycle, Feinberg Foundation Visiting Faculty Program Fellow, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • 2011 Organizer of 1st Gordon Research Seminar on H-M Systems, Stonehill College, USA
  • 2 Fellowships for Gordon Research Conference H-M 2011 and 2013
  • 2 General Motor fellowships (Gordon Research Conference H-M 2007 and 2009)
  • 2001 Science Communication Award, International School for Advanced Studies (ISAS/SISSA), Trieste
  • 1999 Thesis Award, European Union project Chaire Verte

Board and leader group member 

2018-         Section leader, Energy Systems, Department of Technology Systems (UiO)

2019-         Leader of the board for the 2 years master program "Renewable Energy Systems"

2017-2021 ITS Board member

2015-2017 MRS Board of Directors

2018-         MRS Energy and Sustainability, Advisory Board member

2013-         MRS Bulletin Energy Quarterly, editorial board

2013-         Expert for Norway, Task 40 (previous task 32) IEA HIA (Hydrogen Implementing Agreement)

2015-2018 Member Leader group of Kyoto International Forum for Environment and Energy (KIFEE)

2014-2018 Management committee member of the COST Action MP1306 "Modern Tools for Spectroscopy on Advanced Materials: a European Modeling Platform"

2013-2016 Board member Norwegian Hydrogen Forum


Error when retrieving publications from Cristin
Published May 6, 2013 1:06 PM - Last modified May 14, 2020 2:19 PM