Norwegian version of this page

Chemistry 2019: On Odd Hassel´s shoulders

Programme and registration for the Hassel-seminar 31st of October to 1st of November.

Image may contain: Face, Green, Text, Skin, Font.


NB! The programme will be in English.

Abstracts, adresses and biographies



Professor Odd Hassel together with Professor D. H. R. Barton, UK, were in 1969 awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. On that occasion the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo, will arrange an international conference in honor of Odd Hassel. The conference will highlight the importance of Hassel´s establishment of the structure of cyclohexane and the field of conformation analysis and its importance for the modern aspect of chemistry, biology, medicine, material sciences and catalysis. 


The Department of Chemistry is jointly with the Research Council of Norway, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and the Norwegian Chemical Society arranging this international research conference. We are pleased to invite you. We are looking forward to meet you in some challenging days with presentations and discussions of the outmost news in this exciting scientific field. This conference will replace the yearly Hassel-lectures in 2019. 


Further reading: Kveseth, K. Struct Chem (2019), The story of gas-phase electron diffraction (GED) in Norway


Day 1: October 31st 

12:00   Informal lunch at Realfags Biblioteket         

Opening session: Perspective on our scientific future

Chair of the session, Morten Dæhlen; Dean at the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, University of Oslo

13:00  Panel debate: Welcome addresses

Svein Stølen, President at the University of Oslo (UiO):

Welcome, and UiOs plans and strategies

Hans Petter Graver, Preses at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letter:

Is thecurrent research policy sufficient to ensure longterm conditions for high quality basic research

Anders Hanneborg, Executive Director, Division for Science and the Research System, Research Council of Norway (RCN):

A new strategy for RCN – How does the financial instruments look in 2020


Presentations and panel discussion:  

13:20   Edvard Moser, Professor, NTNU/ Kay Gastinger, Head of the

Kavli Inst: Premises for a Nobel prize – how can infrastructure and support prepare the ground for breakthroughs in basic research?

13:35   Thomas Ebbesen, Professor, University of Strasbourg:

The other way around: From industry to basic research 

13:50   Odile Eisenstein, Associated Professor, Dep. Of Chemistry,

UiO: Applied basic research – not so bad? 

14:05   Carl Henrik Gørbitz,  Director UiO:Life Science,

UiO: Strategy for UiO: Lifescience – making research and industry meet

14:20   Panel debate lead by Marina Tofting, The Norwegian

Academy of Science and Letters:

Innovation on the cost of long term basic research or room for both?

15:05   Summing up by Marina Tofting and Morten Dæhlen

15:15    Kari Kveseth, Dr., Dep. of Chemistry, UiO:

Highlights from the Norwegian history of gas electron diffraction - for reflection and inspiration.      


16:00 Opening of the Hassel Exhibition, auditorium 3, Department of Chemistry

Formal opening of the 3rdpart of the exhibition about the Norwegian history about gas electron diffraction (GED). This part in honour of Hassel’s work, visions, findings and the awarded Nobel prize in Chemistry 1969 together with D.H. R. Barton (UK)


Chair of the opening Jo Døhl, Head of Department - Department of Chemistry, UiO

  • Marianne Borgen, Mayor of Oslo - Opening of the Exhibition

Greetings from:

  • Svein Stølen, President at the University of Oslo
  • Bjørn Pedersen; Professor Emeritus
  • Ute Krengel, Professor, UiO; Structural chemistry: presence and future
  • Greetings from Hassels family      

Day 2: November 1st

Academy of Science and Letters, Drammensveien 78, 0271 Oslo

Chair morning session; Morten Dæhlen, Dean at the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, University of Oslo. 

Chair afternoon session, after lunch; Jo Døhl, Head at the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo.



08:30    Coffee

09:00 – 09:05   Opening remarks from the Chair Morten Dæhlen

09:05 -  09:15  Marina Tofting: Major points from the panel-debate October 31st

09.15 - 16:30  Scientific presentations:

09:15 Prof. Dr. Gerard Meijer, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max Planck-

 Gesellschaft; Controlling molecular conformational distributions

09:55 Prof. Thomas Ebbesen, Director of the University of

 Strasbourg Inst. for Advanced Studies: The alchemy of Vacuum      

 – Hybridizing Light and Matter

10:35 Coffee

10:55 Prof. Ursula Röthlisberger,University of Epfl.Ch: 

11:35 Prof. Omar Yaghi, University of California, Berkeley, United

 States: The Atom, The Molecule, The Framework

12:15 Prof. Per Siegbahn, University of Stockholm, Sweden:

 Quantum chemical studies of the most important enzymes  

12:55 Lunch

13:55 Prof. Donald Hilvert, ETH Zürich, Switzerland: 

 Design, evolution and application of protein cages 

 14:35 Prof. Tanja Kortemme, University of California: United States:

Computational design of reprogrammed and new protein functions

15:15 Coffee

15:35 Prof. Richard Henderson, Cambridge Biomedical Campus, UK:

 Electron cryomicroscopy to investigate chemistry of life

16:15 Prof. II Odile Eisenstein, University of Oslo: Computational 

 chemistry: An interpret for structural evolution during chemical    


16:55 Questions and answers, summing up by the Chair Jo Døhl

17:30  Tapas buffet and mingling



The registration fee of 350 NOK for day 2 includes lunch and tapas buffet at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Day 1 is free, but requires registration.

Registration fee for the 1st of November is here.

Deadline for registration is the 1st of October.

Accommodation; Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, Gabels gate 16, 0272 Oslo,

Phone: +47 23 27 65 00    

A number of rooms to a favorable price have been reserved at Gabelshus, a convenient hotel nearby the Norwegian Academy. 45 days before your arrival, please contact Gabelshus direcly at +47 23 27 65 00 ask for Eva Haugstad for reserving rooms for which dates and for how many persons.


The event committee and partners:

Professor Trygve Helgaker, Professor Ute Krengel, Professor Einar Uggerud, Associate Professor Mohamed Amedjkouh and Dr. Kari Kveseth are responsible for the event on behalf of the Department of Chemistry. Marina Tofting is responsible on behalf of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

The Norwegian Society of Chemistry and The Norwegian Research Council are partners of the event. 

Image may contain: text, logo.








The Department of Chemistry at the University of Oslo
Published Feb. 6, 2019 11:59 AM - Last modified Aug. 29, 2019 8:51 PM