English version of this page

Chemistry 2019: On Odd Hassel´s shoulders

Vi feirer 50-årsdagen for Odd Hassels Nobelpris i kjemi: Program og påmelding til Hassel-seminaret 31. oktober til og med 1. november. 

Henter forslag fra Google


NB! Programmet vil være på engelsk.

Sammendrag, taler og biografier (Engelsk)


Professor Odd Hassel together with Professor D. H. R. Barton, UK, were in 1969 awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. On that occasion the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo, will arrange an international conference in honor of Odd Hassel. The conference will highlight the importance of Hassel´s establishment of the structure of cyclohexane and the field of conformation analysis and its importance for the modern aspect of chemistry, biology, medicine, material sciences and catalysis. 


The Department of Chemistry is jointly with the Research Council of Norway, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and the Norwegian Chemical Society arranging this international research conference. We are pleased to invite you. We are looking forward to meet you in some challenging days with presentations and discussions of the outmost news in this exciting scientific field. This conference will replace the yearly Hassel-lectures in 2019. 


Further reading: Kveseth, K. Struct Chem (2019), The story of gas-phase electron diffraction (GED) in Norway

Dag 1: 31. oktober


12:00   Informal lunch at Realfags Biblioteket         

13:00   Panel debate: Welcome addresses

Chair of the session, Morten Dæhlen; Dean at the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, University of Oslo

Opening session: Perspective on our scientific future

Svein Stølen, President at the University of Oslo (UiO):

Welcome, and UiOs plans and strategies

Hans Petter Graver, Preses at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letter:

Is thecurrent research policy sufficient to ensure longterm conditions for high quality basic research

Anders Hanneborg, Former Executive Director, Division for Science and the Research System, Research Council of Norway (RCN):

A new strategy for RCN – How does the financial instruments look in 2020


Presentations and panel discussion:  

Innovation on the cost of long term basic research or room for both? 

13:20   Edvard Moser, Professor, NTNU/ Kay Gastinger, Head of the

Kavli Inst: Premises for a Nobel prize – how can infrastructure and support prepare the ground for breakthroughs in basic research?

13:35   Thomas Ebbesen, Professor, University of Strasbourg:

The other way around: From industry to basic research 

13:50   Odile Eisenstein, Associated Professor, Dep. Of Chemistry,

UiO: Applied basic research – not so bad? 

14:05   Carl Henrik Gørbitz,  Director UiO:Life Science,

UiO: Strategy for UiO: Lifescience – making research and industry meet

14:20   Panel debate lead by Marina Tofting, The Norwegian

Academy of Science and Letters:

Innovation on the cost of long term basic research or room for both?

15:05   Summing up by Marina Tofting and Morten Dæhlen

15:15    Kari Kveseth, Dr., Dep. of Chemistry, UiO:

Highlights from the Norwegian history of gas electron diffraction - for reflection and inspiration.      


16:00 Opening of the Hassel Exhibition, auditorium 3, Department of Chemistry

Formal opening of the 3rdpart of the exhibition about the Norwegian history about gas electron diffraction (GED). This part in honour of Hassel’s work, visions, findings and the awarded Nobel prize in Chemistry 1969 together with D.H. R. Barton (UK)


Chair of the opening Jo Døhl, Head of Department - Department of Chemistry, UiO

Greetings from:

  • Svein Stølen, President at the University of Oslo
  • Bjørn Pedersen; Professor Emeritus: A closer look at Hassel as a person
  • Ute Krengel, Professor, UiO; Structural chemistry: presence and future
  • Ernst Hassel: Greetings from Hassel´s family      

Opening of the Exhibition

Refreshments and mingling


Dag 2: 1. november

Academy of Science and Letters, Drammensveien 78, 0271 Oslo

Chair morning session; Einar Uggerud, The new Head of the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo. 

Chair afternoon session, after lunch; Jo Døhl, Head at the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo.



08:30    Coffee

09:00 – 09:15   Opening remarks from the Chair Einar Uggerud

09.15 - 16:30  Scientific presentations:

09:15 Prof. Dr. Gerard Meijer, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max Planck-

 Gesellschaft:  Controlling molecular conformational distributions

09:55 Prof. Thomas Ebbesen, Director of the University of

 Strasbourg Inst. for Advanced Studies: The alchemy of Vacuum      

 – Hybridizing Light and Matter

10:35 Coffee

10:55 Prof. Pekka Pyykkö, Finland

          Some trends in the periodic table

11:35 Prof. Omar Yaghi, University of California, Berkeley, United

 States: The Atom, The Molecule, The Framework

12:15 Prof. Laura Hartmann, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, 


           Biomimetic polymers – now available with sequence-control

12:55 Lunch

13:55 Prof. Donald Hilvert, ETH Zürich, Switzerland: 

 Design, evolution and application of protein cages 

 14:35 Prof. Tanja Kortemme, University of California: United States:

Computational design of reprogrammed and new protein functions

15:15 Coffee

15:35 Prof. Richard Henderson, Cambridge Biomedical Campus, UK:

 Electron cryomicroscopy to investigate chemistry of life

16:15 Prof. II Odile Eisenstein, University of Oslo: Computational

 chemistry: An interpret for structural evolution during chemical    


16:55 Questions and answers, summing up by the Chair Jo Døhl

17:30  Tapas buffet and mingling




Deltakeravgiften på 350 NOK for dag 2 inkluderer lunsj og tapas buffet i Videnskapsakademiets lokaler.

Dag 1 er gratis, men krever påmelding.

Frist for påmelding og betaling er 4. oktober:

Deltakeravgift for 1 november finner du her.

Accommodation; Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, Gabels gate 16, 0272 Oslo,

Phone: +47 23 27 65 00    


A number of rooms to a favorable price have been reserved at Gabelshus, a convenient hotel nearby the Norwegian Academy. 45 days before your arrival, please contact Gabelshus direcly at +47 23 27 65 00 ask for Eva Haugstad for reserving rooms for which dates and for how many persons.

Arrangementskomitéen og samarbeidspartnere:

Professor Trygve Helgaker, Professor Ute Krengel, Professor Einar Uggerud, Associate Professor Mohamed Amedjkouh og Dr. Kari Kveseth er ansvarlige på vegne av Kjemisk institutt.

Norsk kjemisk selskap, Norges Forskningsråd, og Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi er partnere i arrangementet.








Bildet kan inneholde: tekst, logo.





The Department of Chemistry at the University of Oslo
Publisert 6. feb. 2019 12:00 - Sist endret 3. des. 2019 17:16