Disputation: Solveig Næss

Doctoral candidate Solveig Næss at the Department of informatics, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, is defending the thesis Biophysical modeling of electric and magnetic brain signals for the degree of Philosophiae Doctor.

Picture of the candidate

Photo: Simula Research Laboratory

The PhD defence and trial lecture will be fully digital and streamed directly using Zoom. The host of the session will moderate the technicalities while the chair of the defence will moderate the disputation.

Ex auditorio questions: the chair of the defence will invite the audience to ask ex auditorio questions either written or oral. This can be requested by clicking 'Participants -> Raise hand'. 

Trial lecture

Title: "Models of neurovascular coupling"


Main research findings

When we think, nerve cells in the brain send electric messages to each other. In hospitals all around the world, clinicians listen to our electric thoughts by placing small electrodes on a patient’s head. This recording method is known as electroencephalography (EEG). Since EEG can be used for diagnosing brain diseases such as epilepsy and brain tumors without brain surgery, it is a very popular tool!

Biologists can accurately describe what brain cells look like. Physicists can make mathematical models describing how such detailed brain cells work. We even know how to make computer programs mimicking brain cell conversations. However, we know very little about what EEG recordings actually mean. What kind of brain cell conversations produce the different types of EEG signals?

In this thesis, Solveig Næss uses physics, mathematics and programming to link brain cell conversations with EEG signals. Specifically, Solveig and colleagues present a framework for computing EEG signals from detailed brain cell simulations. They show how the framework is a powerful tool for exploring the origin of EEG.

In the future, a better understanding of EEG will hopefully make it possible to diagnose more brain diseases without brain surgery.

Adjudication committee:

  • Professor Risto Ilmoniemi, Dept of Neuroscience and Biomedical engineering, Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland
  • Associate Professor Stephanie Jones, Department of Neuroscience, Brown University, USA
  • Professor Atle Bjørnerud, Department of Physics, University of Oslo, Norway


  • Professor Gaute Einevoll, Norwegian University of Life Sciences / University of Oslo, Norway
  • Dr. Torbjørn V. Ness, Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway
  • Professor Marianne Fyhn, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Professor Anders M. Dale, University of California San Diego, USA

Chair of defence

Ragnhild Kobro Runde

Candidate contact information: email

Contact information to Department: Anniken R. Birkelund

Publisert 20. okt. 2021 14:23 - Sist endret 22. nov. 2022 10:09