Three CEED researchers awarded European Geosciences Union prizes

Three researchers from CEED are awarded prizes from the European Geosciences Union (EGU). Two of the prizes will be formal given to the prize winners at EGUs 2016 General Assembly in Vienna (17–22 April). See the three EGU-prize winners here.

Three awards:

The Arthur Holmes Medal & Honorary Membership of the EGU, form one of the three equally-ranked most prestigious awards made by the Union, and they are reserved for scientists who have achieved exceptional international standing in Solid Earth Geosciences, defined in their widest senses, for their merit and their scientific achievements.

  • Grace E. Shephard awarded the 2016 Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists

The Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists of the EGU recognises scientific achievements in any field of the Geosciences, made by an early career scientist.

See European Geosciences Unions webpages for more information

The Outstanding Student Poster Award of the EGU is given to improve the overall quality of poster presentations and most importantly, to foster the excitement of younger colleagues in presenting their work in form of a poster. Hans Jørgen was awarded this prize for a poster in the Tectonics and Structural Geology category entitled:

Brittle-viscous deformation of vein quartz under fluid-rich low greenschist facies conditions (Kjøll, H.J.; Viola, G.; Menegon, L.; Sørensen, B.).

See EGUs webpages for more information and link to poster


Congratulations to all!


By Gunn Kristin Tjoflot
Published Oct. 28, 2015 12:24 PM - Last modified Oct. 9, 2020 3:03 PM